Naar de startpagina van Caravantrekker.nl  
 



Gebruikerservaringen
Ford Galaxy

Sorteer gebruikservaringen op:

Ford Galaxy II - 2.3 16v aut. met een Wilk

De ervaring van hjanssen met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.3 16v aut. (118 Kw/160 pk bouwperiode: juni 2007 - mei 2010) en een Wilk Sento 560 DM van 1560 kg geplaatst op 02-12-2015. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 83% Berekening >>>>

zeer tevreden over deze combinatie

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v aut. [4AT] met een HomeCar

De ervaring van Dick met een Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v aut. [4AT] (107 Kw/146 pk bouwperiode: november 1997 - juni 2006) en een HomeCar Racer 40 ATF Trophy van 1145 kg geplaatst op 22-06-2013. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 59% Berekening >>>>

De combinatie Ford Galaxy 2.3 aut op lpg met Homecar (1200kg) is super. Rijdt als een trein, veel vermogen over en makkelijk vrachtauto's in te halen met tempo 100. Prima combinatie, slingert nooit en rijdt ook de Brenner soepel op.

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [2010] met een LMC

De ervaring van Tijs met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [2010] (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: mei 2010 - 2015) en een LMC Musica 470 E van 1400 kg geplaatst op 23-02-2013. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 73% Berekening >>>>

Na eerst een Ford S-Max met zelfde motor te hebben gereden zijn we overgestapt op een Galaxy. Heerlijke reisauto. Je merkt wel dat de vering wat meer op comfort is ingesteld, zelfs de steviger vering die we hebben late plaatsen. Maar dat beïnvloedt de stabiliteit van het rijden geenszins.

We hebben de auto goed kunnen testen op de vakantie naar Zuid-Duitsland. Met 100 km/u over een vlakke Autobahn, omhoog en omlaag door de midden-Duitse bergen en de over de A8 bij München: geen probleem en heerlijk stabiel. Ook op de kleinere wegen rijdt de combinatie vertrouwd.

Koppel is prima en dankzij de Bergtraining via deze site komen we overal zonder problemen weg.

Wat ons betreft een prima reisauto waar we met onze caravan met groot vertrouwen richting de Noorse binnenwegen en bergen gaan.

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Hobby

De ervaring van Luc Poppe met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Hobby Excellent 540 UFe van 1493 kg geplaatst op 24-06-2012. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 80% Berekening >>>>

Mijn caravan hobby 540 ufe max op as 1550 kg. Auto 1.9 TDI 320 Nm en 114 kW.Geen problemen met trekken in elke situatie, Zeer stabiel en verbruik 1 op 10. Rijbewijs BE noodzakelijk.

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Hobby

De ervaring van t p met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Hobby Excellent 500 KMFe van 1400 kg geplaatst op 30-10-2011. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 72% Berekening >>>>

Ik ben al veel met deze combinatie op vakantie geweest en heb nog nooit last gehad van enig trekkracht tekort of slippende koppeling. Deze wagen rijdt super met een (zware) caravan erachter. Zeer stabiel en het verbruik valt ook mee. Gemiddeld 1 liter meer per 100km. Aanrader!

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi met een Hobby

De ervaring van wouter met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 pk bouwperiode: oktober 2003 - juni 2006) en een Hobby De Luxe 500 KMFe van 1400 kg geplaatst op 26-07-2011. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 70% Berekening >>>>

Veel problemen gehad met de noodloop van de turbo.
Na zeer lange tijd zoeken en proberen heeft mijne garagist het gevonden.Nu is dit echt een super trekker!

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi met een Hobby

De ervaring van w eerlingen met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 pk bouwperiode: oktober 2003 - juni 2006) en een Hobby De Luxe 500 KMFe van 1413 kg geplaatst op 19-06-2011. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 71% Berekening >>>>

Op vlakke wegen prima,maar als je een helling op moet en je moet terug schakelen valt de turbo in noodloop.Levensgevaarlijk!!!!
En in de garage vinden ze natuurlijk niets!!

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Hobby

De ervaring van P.J. de Jonge met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Hobby De Luxe 495 UK van 1400 kg geplaatst op 20-07-2010. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 71% Berekening >>>>

De eerste keer dat ik de caravan trok met de Galaxy stonken de koppelingsplaten enorm. Nu ruik je ze nog wel eens. Voor het overige trekt hij de caravan prima en merk je onderweg haast niet dat hij achter de auto hangt.

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Adria

De ervaring van Danny Depooter met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Adria Action 341 PH XL van 1000 kg geplaatst op 01-10-2008. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 47% Berekening >>>>

Een zeer goede en comfortabele combinatie. Ruime wagen, soepel rijgedrag met caravan - MTM 1000kg - met stabilisator. Enig minpunt(je), bij langere hellingen van >=5% is de motor driemaal in noodprogramma gegaan, zeer vervelend als je naast een vrachtwagen rijdt... Opgelost door minder snel naar boven te rijden (max 80km/u in 4e). Naar verluidt is dit te wijten aan de variabele turbo.

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Dethleffs

De ervaring van arjan met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Dethleffs Beduin 540 van 1440 kg geplaatst op 28-09-2008. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 73% Berekening >>>>

Rijdt met Galaxy 1.9 tdi 85 kw. Carvan is een dethleffs 540V max. gewicht 1400 kg. Deze combinatie doet het voortreffelijk. Had eerst een peugeot 407 sw 2.0 i. Maar met Ford gaat en stuk beter. Naar Zuid Frankrijk door het centraal masive totaal geen problemen, zelfs met de airco aan!!

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Hobby

De ervaring van H Steenbergen met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Hobby De Luxe 440 SF van 1200 kg geplaatst op 12-09-2008. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 61% Berekening >>>>

zelfde ervaring als gert van mil, zelfs zonder caravan heeft de auto moeite om can z,n plek te komen, je moet veel gas geven voor een diesel .

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Hobby

De ervaring van J.Wolthuis met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Hobby De Luxe 495 UK van 1383 kg geplaatst op 01-06-2008. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 69% Berekening >>>>

na een skoda octavia 2.0 benzine een ford galaxy 1.9 diesel 115 pk.
Met de skoda ging net maar de ford is het een eitje, sterk als een beer en hellingen van 7% gewoon met 100 omhoog,soms even terugschakelen om in het juiste toerengebied te blijven,zelfs 16% zonder enig probleem omhoog.
gewoon een super combinatie met veel ruimte voor de kids en hond en heel relaxt rijden, en dan ook nog 1 op 10 met de diesel

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v aut. [4AT] met een HomeCar

De ervaring van Nico met een Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v aut. [4AT] (107 Kw/146 pk bouwperiode: november 1997 - juni 2006) en een HomeCar Racer 45 Spirit van 1230 kg geplaatst op 30-04-2008. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 60% Berekening >>>>

Ik ben sinds een maand in het bezit van een Ford Galaxy 2.3 automaat enrijdt nu vor het eerst met mijn Home-car spirit(totaat beladen 1300kg)naar een camping in Limburg en had na plm.150 km.dat met het optrekken de tweede verselling af en toe niet pakte,wel wanner ik zelf schakel met select shift.
Gevoelsmatig heb ik het idee dat de automaat te heet wordt en er kleppen voor het schakelen blijven "hangen',dus terug op lagere snelheid gebruik gemaakt van select shift en op snelweg in d4 geen problemen gehad echter thuis na wegbrengen caravan opeens doorgieren bij opschakelen naar 3 dan weer pakken met een klap dus ga zo snel mogelijk naar een ford dealer om te vragen wat dit kan zijn.
Mischien herkent iemand dit,dan graag een reactie.
Heb mijn Honda Shutlle weggedaan omdat die maar 1200 k. mag trekken en de Ford 1800 kg maar ben nu zwaar teleurgesteld.

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy II - 2.3 16v aut. met een Knaus

De ervaring van J.Graat met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.3 16v aut. (118 Kw/160 pk bouwperiode: juni 2007 - mei 2010) en een Knaus Sudwind 500 EU van 1405 kg geplaatst op 30-03-2008. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 75% Berekening >>>>

Bij het berg-op rijden is het verstandig handmatig te schakelen, omdat de automaat anders zelf constant aan het schakeleln blijft, wat een onrustig rijgedrag tot gevolg heeft.

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een TEC

De ervaring van A.R. Baas met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een TEC Travel King 510 TE van 1250 kg geplaatst op 26-12-2007. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 61% Berekening >>>>

Caravan Tec TK 510 TE met een beladen gewicht van 1.200-1.300 kg. Fijne combinatie. Galaxy heeft prima koppel en is dus een goede trekauto. Op lange hellingen moet wel teruggeschakeld worden naar de 4e versnelling, maar op vlakke wegen is de 6e goed te gebruiken. Voldoende power om in de 5e vlot in te halen en zonodig door te trekken tot 110-120 km/u. Auto heeft van zichzelf voldoende gewicht om ook een flinke caravan goed stabiel te houden; ook zonder gebruik van stabilisator (wat mijn voorkeur heeft).

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Fendt

De ervaring van gert van mil met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Fendt Saphir 490 TF van 1448 kg geplaatst op 29-09-2007. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 74% Berekening >>>>

Galaxy is prima caravantrekker als je rijdt. Het wegrijden op berghellingen bleek erg problematisch. Stinkende koppeling en wel genoeg kracht maar niet voldoende tractie. Koppeling leek te gaan slippen als alle trekkracht nodig was. Nog geen oplossing bedacht.
In voorjaar 2008 naar Italie met de combinatie gereden en nog steeds dezlefde problemen ondanks dat de auto is voorzien van nieuwe software.

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy - 2.8 V6 24v [6MT] met een Hobby

De ervaring van P. de bruijn met een Ford Galaxy - 2.8 V6 24v [6MT] (150 Kw/204 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Hobby De Luxe 540 UL van 1382 kg geplaatst op 24-03-2007. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 70% Berekening >>>>

zeer tevreden.
vraag: wie heeft ervaring met of zonder Tractie Controle
Systeem te rijden. Vooral in de bergen moet ik het uit/
inschakelen?



Opm. Webmaster: uitschakelen is aan te raden omdat je anders wel eens ongemerkt plankgas rijdt.

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi met een Tabbert

De ervaring van J. Reckers met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 pk bouwperiode: oktober 2003 - juni 2006) en een Tabbert DaVinci 540 DM (2,50) van 1700 kg geplaatst op 23-12-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= n.b.% Berekening >>>>

Deze zomer naar Kroatie geweest. Prima trekauto rijd goed en verbruikt bij een snelheid van rond de 100 km 1:9. Dit is in mijn ogen niet slecht met caravan erachter van 1700 kg en een auto maximaal beladen.(weegbrug gaf 4100 kg aan, is dus 100 kg teveel). Is prima in zijn 5 te rijden. Hellingen gaan goed in zijn 4 en hoefde op de snelweg bij hellingen zelden naar zijn 3. kortom bevalt prima en we kijken nu al uit naar de volgende vakantie uit

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi met een Caravan

De ervaring van L. Poppe met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (110 Kw/150 pk bouwperiode: februari 2005 - juni 2006) en een Caravan van n.b. kg geplaatst op 22-12-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= n.b.% Berekening >>>>

In 2006 met deze combinatie op pad geweest naar Bordeau 2500km, naar Noorwegen/zweden 6000 km en naar Parijs 500 km. Gewicht caravan 1550 kg, auto leeg 1625 kg. Met een snelheid van 95 km/h zonder problemen, geen slingeren, kogeldruk 60 kg.
Auto rijdt op snelweg perfect in 5-de versnelling (heb er totaal 6). Heuvels in frankrijk zonder problemen. Olie verbruik voor diesel is normaal maar met caravan goed in de gaten houden. Door extra belasting meer vebruik maar valt reuze mee. Verbruik solo 7.1 l/100km, met caravan 10 l/100km.
Ben er zeer tevreden over.

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v met een Knaus

De ervaring van H de Ruiter met een Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v (107 Kw/146 pk bouwperiode: november 1997 - juni 2006) en een Knaus Sudwind 500 EU van 1500 kg geplaatst op 15-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 75% Berekening >>>>

Rijden nu a een jaar of 3 heel plezierig met deze combinatie. Alleen bij regen slippen de voorwielen wel eens (met 75 kg. kogeldruk), indien naar een hogere versnelling opgeschakeld wordt.

Wijzigen


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v met een Hobby

De ervaring van h.c.stegink met een Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v (107 Kw/146 pk bouwperiode: november 1997 - juni 2006) en een Hobby Excellent 460 UFe van 1349 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 66% Berekening >>>>

De combinatie Ford Galaxy 2.3 en de Hobby 460 Ufe Excellent Easy voldoet prima. Bergop/heuvelop is het geen hardloper maar gaat constant omhoog.Met rijden vanuit stilstand omhoog is het ook niet bepaald een trekbeest, maar laat je niet gauw staan.Onze combinatie was tot 3200 kg beladen, caravan tot 1350 kg en beide vlgs de weegbrug.
Kogeldruk op ca. 75 kg, gewogen.
Dit jaar 10.000 km met de caravan gereden, fr, sp, marokko.
Verbruik solo bij max. snelheid van 110 km/u 10l/100km.
Met de caravan max. 95 km/u 13.5 l/100km.

Overigen is bij een snelheid boven de 85 km/u wel sprake van onrustig weggedrag van de caravan, met stabilisator.

Wijzigen


Engelse reviews
Ford Galaxy

Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] met een Bailey

De ervaring van Jonty met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] (120 Kw/163 pk bouwperiode: mei 2010 - 2015) en een Bailey Senator California van 1459 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 91%* = 107 km/u = 21%

Probably one of the best outfits I have owned, the Galaxy makes good progress, flat, hill, very steep hill, I have used this all over the UK and never felt in a position I was not comfortable with.

I did have a dedicated tow bar / electrics kit and had the car programmed to adapt the vehicle stability etc. when the caravan was hitched, the caravan also has ATC and although the odd wobble in high winds with large vehicles passing the outfit took it all in its stride.

The car is now 5 years old and it did give some difficulty with the gearbox, this required a new box to be fitted at 41,000 miles, which was a bit of a shock, but given the overall drive and handling either solo or with the van hitched I am looking at another Galaxy.

Fuel economy on the Galaxy was between 38 mpg around town and 48 mpg on a steady run, using cruise control even when towing without difficulty. Towing the van returned on average between 28 and 32 mpg which I feel was acceptable given the loading.

The one thing I will say is that when fitting the tow bar and electrics be sure you have a dedicated kit rather than a relay kit, this gives the reassurance of the car handling software adjusting once hitched, this takes account of the van loading on the vehicle. I let the Ford dealer fit the first but despite asking for a dedicated kit they fitted a cheaper relay kit, which I insisted was changed to the one I requested.

Would I recommend this combination, yes without hesitation, I will report on the \"All New\" Ford Galaxy once it arrives and I tow with it.

Happy touring!


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Bailey

De ervaring van Richard Heaton met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Bailey Pegasus GT65 Ancona van 1496 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 89%* = 101 km/u = 18%

I echo the other reviews, Galaxy 2.0 TDCI Ghia is fantastic, smooth, powerful and effortless. This replaced our previous car a Volvo XC90 - automatic which struggled with towing and returned poor MPG. Im getting aroung 40mpg when towing and around 54 mpg when not.


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v met een Caravan

De ervaring van Miro met een Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v (107 Kw/146 pk bouwperiode: november 1997 - juni 2006) en een Caravan van 1175 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 74%* = 110 km/u = 12%

i've been pulling my galaxy 2.3 petrol with Abi Award Globestar 1991( empty weight 925kg ) very well from UK to Poland for about 1100 miles, before trip i was really scarry how as the car can survive, but was really ok, i want to mention that we was 2 in car and inside was without seats because we had about 300 kg our staff, and also about another 250-300 kg in caravan so total weight caravan + car was 3300 kg - amazing. 80% of trip was using 5th gear, sometimes in motorway goes to 4th gear, just in Belgium i was going to 3th but there was hill in motorway to 350m, bad point only was fuel - 19 mpg on all trip but it was so heavy to pull, but basically RECOMMEND Ford Galaxy at all !!!


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] met een Elddis

De ervaring van Andy K met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: mei 2010 - 2015) en een Elddis Odyssey 550 van 1547 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 95%* = 100 km/u = 18%

Took the Elddis on tour to France. It felt quite stable, and the auto box made driving effortless, with the very comfortable car. Maybe the 163 BHP would be better, but I was happy with performance overall, and 28 mpg average for the 1650 mile round trip


Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi met een Sterling

De ervaring van Martin met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi (128 Kw/174 pk bouwperiode: april 2008 - mei 2010) en een Sterling Eccles Sport 586 van 1547 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 86%* = 112 km/u = 23%

I have 2009 Galaxy 2.2 TDCI with 174 hp engine, The tow bar limit on Galaxy past 2009 is actually 90 kg not 80kg. We tow Sterling Eccles 586 which is fairly big van and find this car performing really well. There is a known issue with turbo lag but this is something that you getting used to when towing and does not make any troubles.
We already towed the van to South France through A75 and also to South Germany. Car performed really well doing up to 700km on a single tank. Average fuel consumption is around 9l/100km but gearing and rpm is really important. On our engine around 2200 rpm on 5th gear makes around 60 m/h and this seems to be most economical setup. When no wind and motorway is flat we could to 6th gear and 1850rpm having slightly better fuel consumption.
The only issue I found is a bit week clutch on reversing but pulling forward in my opinion this is one of the best value for money car on the market.


Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi met een Elddis

De ervaring van Neil met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi (147 Kw/200 pk bouwperiode: juni 2010 - 2015) en een Elddis Avante 646 van 1700 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 95%* = 117 km/u = 24%

Used to tow with a 2.0 tdci 140 Galaxy which towed well, then changed to the 2.2 (200) which although is not as economical, is much better towing due to the extra power. Tow a twin axle Elddis and find it is well up to the job. Although top gear is achievable easily, it is not always the best as their seems to be terrible turbo lag at low revs. (A PCM update at the next service should help)

Overall a good tow car, however a high powered front wheel drive car with a heavy van on the back can be challenging on wet grass and wet hill starts. If only a 4wd version was available.


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] met een Bailey

De ervaring van Andrew met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: mei 2010 - 2015) en een Bailey Pegasus 646 van 1500 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 93%* = 99 km/u = 19%

I like all the detail of the report however the figures used for the weight of the Ford Galaxy are hugely wrong if you are in the UK. The 1731kg is for the minimum kerb weight. This does not take into account people, fuel or luggage. I would suggest you look at a vin plate of a real Galaxy. My gross vehicle weight is 2505kg which looks much more reasonable for towing up to a 1800kg limit which is 71% car to caravan ratio quite different from the 87% quoted above. If you are going to provide this service please get it right!!!!!!!!!! ps my maximum gross train is 4305kg if that is any help


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] met een Sprite

De ervaring van Nick met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Sprite Musketeer EB van 1252 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 77%* = 101 km/u = 30%

This car tows the caravan well. We travel fairly well loaded, 2 adults, 2 kids, 2 dogs and all the odds and sods that requires. The large luggage space means that there is plenty of room for the dogs, some luggage and the BBQ. The kids love the high seating position and the drop down picnic tables. This is our second Galaxy auto and on this one I had a removable tow-bar fitted as the last one kept setting off the parking sensors. If you take it really easy then the fuel consumption read out can get near 30MPG (I have no idea how accurate that is), more spirited driving will show low to mid 20's. On my first Galaxy I used teh toptronic gear change but on the current one I just leave it to sort itself out in drive. The gearbox can be fragile, my first Galaxy (2001) had a gearbox failure at around 70,000 miles and the cost can approach £3,000 for the repair (this is a fairly common problem). My current one (2006) has a warranty to cover this! Towing with an automatic always seems sluggish (to me) compared to a manual but I never seem to be at the front of a long queue (more often in the middle).

Plus Points:-
Tows well
Roomy
Comfortable
Reasonable performance

Minus Points
Expensive to run
Potentially fragile gearbox

Conclusion
I am on my second!


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 16v met een Bailey

De ervaring van PAT LAWRENCE met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 16v (107 Kw/146 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - 2015) en een Bailey Senator Arizona van 1464 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 92%* = 99 km/u = 9%

WE HAVE NO TROUBLE AT ALL TOWING OUR 2004 MODEL ARIZONA WITH OUR 2008 FORD GALAXY, EVEN ON HILLS WE ARE IN 3RD GEAR NO PROBS. HAPPY HOLIDAYS.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi met een Elddis

De ervaring van Jason Bradman met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 pk bouwperiode: oktober 2003 - juni 2006) en een Elddis Avante 556 van 1507 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 87%* = 105 km/u = 16%

This is the second Galaxy I have had the first was the 110bhp the second is the 130bhp both where chiped to so + 20-30% on this. Towing is great and very stable, The first car had 170k on the clock and still pulled the van well. If you are not carrying 7 people you can remove most the caravan equipment and load the back up for even better stability. One note the rear tyre pressures for a full load is a great deal more than normal. would recommend forever and a day and hope the new MK3 galaxy tows as good (Just need the money and an excuse to swap )


Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi met een Swift

De ervaring van Steve met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi (147 Kw/200 pk bouwperiode: juni 2010 - 2015) en een Swift Charisma 620 TA van 1615 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 91%* = 117 km/u = 24%

After towing my Swift Charisma 620 twin axle with a 19tdi 130 bhp Galaxy with no problem except having to change down at the slightest incline and very rarely being able to get in top gear,we were due to change our car so went for another Galaxy but this time a 2.2 Titainium x 200 bhp,pulls the caravan a dream and have no problems in getting in top gear,would certainly recommend this car


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Lunar

De ervaring van Alan Stewart met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Lunar Quasar 626 van 1550 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 92%* = 102 km/u = 18%

Sorry to be the only one putting a dampner on the Galaxy but I've just had to sell mine. Great car, agree with all the power/economy & motorway comments but two wheel drive just couldn't hack it. Got stuck on a wet field in Wales, wheelspin pulling up steep hills if any gravel about. Loved the car but with a 26' twin axle I'm affraid the Galaxy had to go. Will report on how the Sorento does when we get back


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Hobby

De ervaring van Graham Ryan met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Hobby De Luxe 560 KMFe van 1600 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 95%* = 97 km/u = 18%

I have just come back from our firs run out with the 2ltr tdci ghia 08 pulling our hobby 560 ukf and I can only say the ford is a diamond of a car all the room you need for the offspring and the power under the hood to easily pull the hobby a quick calculation on fuel consumption tells me we got a jaw droopingly good 38 mpg on a mix of motorway and back roads I hope to get this to 40 on next run out !!! Hail the galaxy best car for the job.


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Sterling

De ervaring van Den wells met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Sterling Europa 520 van 1450 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 87%* = 102 km/u = 19%

I have a 2007 (07) tdi Ghia And can reiterate what others say! The car tows very well and at 60 in 6th goes very well with plenty left, it accelerates really well and soon gets up to the speed limit with ease, Fuel consumption is between 35 to 45 to the gallon, the only complaint I have is on B roads I get a little pitching but I suspect that is down to me rather than the car as I have only just purchased the caravan and am just getting used to loading etc. all in all an excellent towcar and am very pleased with the performance.


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [2010] met een Swift

De ervaring van Neil Anyon met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [2010] (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: mei 2010 - 2015) en een Swift Charisma 550 van 1470 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 91%* = 102 km/u = 19%

Easily the best tow car I've driven, either with the Swift or my previous (lighter) Elddis. Economy on our recent trip (350 miles each way) averaged 27 and we do not pack light! Family of 5 plus bikes etc.

Generally speaking, unless you can be sure that there won't be even a slight uphill stretch, it seems more economical to stick to 5th gear which is no less refined and certainly seems to suit the engine better. It will sit in 5th all day unless you have to slow for middle lane HGVs - great with cruise control.

Certainly the most relaxing towing I've ever done.




Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [2010] met een Sterling

De ervaring van Jim Dougall met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [2010] (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: mei 2010 - 2015) en een Sterling Eccles SE Solitaire van 1605 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 98%* = 99 km/u = 18%

Had or first long trip last week, towed from Ayrshire to Devon and back. Averaged about 26mpg, fully laden, comfortable tow, I think the car is slightly underpowered on steep hills, struggled a bit when pulling off from stationary on a steep incline, would advise the 163bhp if I had the option, plenty of room however for all our gear.
Towing to France next year.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Lunar

De ervaring van sue laughlin met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Lunar Quasar 546 van 1430 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 85%* = 102 km/u = 17%

my husband does all the hard work (ie towing) but we have been SO very pleased with the Galaxy both for towing and normal family-ferrying! Makes towing almost easy - use 5th gear easily on motorways, confident when overtaking, uphill fine and never had problems on wet grass - maybe just been lucky but would highly recommend the Galaxy both as a normal family car and as a towing vehicle.


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Abbey

De ervaring van Sparky met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Abbey Vogue 600 van 1630 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 96%* = 100 km/u = 17%

Just changed from galaxy 1.9 tdi to new shape 2.0 tdi done 300 miles to dorset with no problems lots more power than the old galaxy used 6th and 5th on the motorway and got 29 miles to the gallon forgot the van was there.


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v met een Caravan

De ervaring van ian hussey met een Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v (107 Kw/146 pk bouwperiode: november 1997 - juni 2006) en een Caravan van 1200 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 75%* = 109 km/u = 12%

the ford galaxy 2.3 doesnt have any trouble whot so ever pulling a elddis wisp ovation wisp 1994 even from a hill start only bad thing is it loves a drop of petrol when pulling the van


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [5MT] met een Hobby

De ervaring van hans Nygaard met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [5MT] (66 Kw/90 pk bouwperiode: december 1995 - augustus 2000) en een Hobby Excellent 460 LU van 1333 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 84%* = 87 km/u = 12%

there is not many hk, but it works ok. and it runs near 10km/ liter at 100 km/ hour


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Sterling

De ervaring van Tom Thompson met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Sterling Eccles SE Ruby van 1585 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 89%* = 99 km/u = 17%

A little daunting at first as the length and spec of caravan looks intimidating compared to the tow car.
The Galaxy pulls this along with plenty in reserve. I try to keep the van light by putting some items behind driver / passenger when possible.
The Galaxy was definitely the right choice for this combo.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] met een Bailey

De ervaring van Alan Rundle met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Bailey Ranger 500/5 van 1194 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 74%* = 102 km/u = 31%

I have towed a Bailey Ranger 500/5 with a 1.9 ltr Zetec Galaxy automatic for the last two years. No problems at all. This summer's trip was from Cornwall to the Lakes.a lot of motorway driving, very stable all the way and returned 25 MPG. When not on motorways ~~I put the gearbox into tiptronic and use it as a manual as on some slower roads it tries to change down too often for my liking.


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [2010] met een Sterling

De ervaring van Tony met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [2010] (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: mei 2010 - 2015) en een Sterling Europa 540 van 1452 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 86%* = 101 km/u = 18%

My Galaxy is the best towcar I've had in the 20 years or so I've been caravanning. As other reviews have said, its a very stable towcar and the 2L diesel engine is very well suited to towing duty. I'm inclined to get to 60mph/100kph and drop the cruise control on, usually in 5th (though it will tow in 6th) as I think the fuel economy is a little better. I get around 42mpg solo, and around 25-30 towing. For the size of vehicle I think that's excellent. We tend to use the Galaxy in 5 seat mode, ie with the rearmost two seats folded down. This gives us a huge boot area to pack bikes, awning, chairs etc, short of a full sized 4x4 such as a Discovery I don't know of many other vehicles that could cope with so much kit, but of course the fuel consumption with the Galaxy is so much better. The only real downside is the lack of a spare wheel, if Ford fix this I'd give the Galaxy 10 out of 10 as a towcar.


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi aut. met een Sterling

De ervaring van garry met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi aut. (96 Kw/131 pk bouwperiode: juni 2007 - mei 2010) en een Sterling Eccles Opal van 1493 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 83%* = 99 km/u = 34%

thought the caravan had come off after years towing with a picasso this is superb outfit only problem is staying awake effortless now only if the awning was easier to erect holidays would be easy


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi met een Sprite

De ervaring van shaun met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 pk bouwperiode: oktober 2003 - juni 2006) en een Sprite Quattro FB van 1546 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 81%* = 102 km/u = 15%

really pleased with my galaxy. had a 2.3 petrol witch i thought pulled well but this one is better. six gear is not really useable but not been on motorway yet. stick it in cruise at 50 and you are set. love it!


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Bailey

De ervaring van Philip Grimshaw met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Bailey Senator Arizona van 1464 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 83%* = 100 km/u = 18%

I have an 09 Plate Galaxy Ghia 2.0tdci and can reflect what the previous people have said. the car will tow all day in sixth on cruise control. I have had three previous Mark 2 Galaxy's but this is one is by far the best at towing. I aim to achieve 26 mpg whilst towing. Stongly recommended


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Compass

De ervaring van Neil Turner met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Compass Corona 626 van 1737 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 95%* = 99 km/u = 16%

I have a 56 plate Galaxy Ghia (X) 2.0 tdci towing the 8m double axel Corona and it does really well. When I bought the van, everyone asked if I had a FWD to tow it with and seemed surprised that I would attempt it with the Galaxy. I get 22 mpg, and have had no trouble except for a small argument with a gate (which I can hardly blame the car for!). I also get 38/39 mpg without the van, which is much better than most FWDs for the rest of the year. Overall, the best people carrier and the best towcar I have ever driven!


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Lunar

De ervaring van simon met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Lunar Zenith 4 van 1145 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 65%* = 105 km/u = 19%

Have to check that the van is still on the back! Easy to speed up by mistake, even with 2 kids, 2 adults and car loaded to the rafters incl roofbox. Had no probs.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Coachman

De ervaring van Elliott met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Coachman Pastiche 530/4 van 1560 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 86%* = 99 km/u = 16%

Always impressed with this tow car, although pulls a bit on long uphill stretches, found if you lighten the coachman and put into the car it pulls better


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Coachman

De ervaring van E Drummond met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Coachman Pastiche 530/4 van 1560 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 86%* = 99 km/u = 16%

Always impressed with this tow car, although pulls a bit on long uphill stretches, found if you lighten the coachman and put into the car it pulls better


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi met een Bailey

De ervaring van peter j met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 pk bouwperiode: oktober 2003 - juni 2006) en een Bailey Ranger 540/6 van 1413 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 72%* = 103 km/u = 16%

I would recommend a Galaxy to anyone.
I forget sometimes that I am towing my caravan, there is so much power I am hitting 60mph with no problems.
Although my caravan is quite light, there are 2 adults and 4 children, and 5 bikes, and everything else plus the kitchen sink now and again.


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v met een Caravan

De ervaring van Mr Knibb met een Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v (107 Kw/146 pk bouwperiode: november 1997 - juni 2006) en een Caravan van 250 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 12%* = 163 km/u = 19%

we have a Bailey Bretagne (six berth) when loaded for trips away the car has good pull away and acceleration the unit cruises very well but can slow on a long incline but for all the usual traits of overtaking,cross winds etc we are very happy overall.


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Swift

De ervaring van Adrian Coombs met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Swift Charisma 570 van 1452 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 87%* = 102 km/u = 19%

Have had the Galaxy for three years fron new. Is a fantastic all round car and tows really well. Have taken it across to South of France each year. Would recommend this vehicle. MPG when towing with Swift Charisma (1452 kg) is about 24. Not bad for a heavy caravan.
MPG.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Tabbert

De ervaring van Antony met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Tabbert Vivaldi 560 E (2,50) van 1595 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 88%* = 99 km/u = 15%

never a problem with this combination even with the caravan been 2.5 mts wide.The galaxy pulled well in all gears and no problem with inclines as long as long as not caught out in the wrong gear.Tows every bit as good as my mitsuibishi pajero.


Ford Galaxy - 2.8 V6 [5MT] met een Avondale

De ervaring van andy lawson met een Ford Galaxy - 2.8 V6 [5MT] (128 Kw/174 pk bouwperiode: december 1995 - augustus 2000) en een Avondale Dart 630-6 van 1431 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 83%* = 119 km/u = 12%

ford galaxy 2.8 v6 well what can i say,plenty of power (low down) need that extra for an overtake drop it to 3rd and your off ,pulls the avondale dart 630-6 (twin axel )like a dream ,a bit heavy on fuel if you hammer it though .when cruising very cumfy.


Ford Galaxy II - 1.8 TDCi [6MT] met een Elddis

De ervaring van bob Bartram met een Ford Galaxy II - 1.8 TDCi [6MT] (92 Kw/125 pk bouwperiode: september 2006 - mei 2010) en een Elddis Super Cyclone van 1395 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 79%* = 95 km/u = 15%

My Elddis was manufactured in Jan 1977 and has a MTPLM of 1400kg which is approx 50kg lighter than the new model.It tows very well and the combined unit is lively considering it is the max towing weight for my Ford.I am very impressed with the quality finish of the caravan and was the main reason I traded my Abbey impression for it ,together with the weight of the caravan.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi met een Fleetwood

De ervaring van Philip Brayshaw met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 pk bouwperiode: oktober 2003 - juni 2006) en een Fleetwood Volante 520 van 1385 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 77%* = 105 km/u = 17%

Caravan is a Fleetwood Garland 185/5 (24.5 ft long) 1450kgs max authorised weight.The Ford Galaxy 130ps tows it well averaging 26-27mpg on a run and it climbs any hills easily.Not dissapointed with this choice of car.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Abbey

De ervaring van jason met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Abbey Aventura 340 van 1568 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 86%* = 99 km/u = 16%

really impressed with my galaxy diesel 115bhp.I had previuosly pulled a baailey senator oklahoma easily but now I am now pulling a heavier 6 berth aventura 340 and performance has been impressive. I dont feel like I am struggling. Keep a clean air filter ( I change between services) and you will have no problems


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v aut. [4AT] met een Sterling

De ervaring van Jules Gillespie met een Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v aut. [4AT] (107 Kw/146 pk bouwperiode: november 1997 - juni 2006) en een Sterling Europa 600 TA van 1534 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 86%* = 102 km/u = 17%

Having previously driven a 2.0L Galaxy, the 2.3 is a far better option. The extra power of the larger engine is most welcome, and it is possible to find yourself hitting NSL if you don't keep an eye on your speed. Power is available throughout the rev range, and the brakes seem more impressive too. As you would expect, hills are taken competently.
Having the Auto gearbox has also been of use, but I have yet to sample the unit on a steep downhill slope. The 'box can be switched to a 'tiptronic' style, where gear selection is manual. This also seems to work well, but again I have yet to try this on a steep hill.
On motorways, the 2.3 still suffers a little from sideways deflections from the largest vans and lorries, but to a lesser extent than the 2.0L


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Adria

De ervaring van Ian met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Adria Adora 532 LT van 1325 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 80%* = 101 km/u = 19%

I have a 58 plate Galaxy Ghia 2.0 tdci 103 kW/138 bhp. We tow our Adria Adora 532LT with no problems at all. The usual fuel consuption is around 41mpg and with the van on aroud 38.7 mpg. That will do for me! As others have said the only thing is keeping the speed down. The standard mirrors are also v good, our van is a wide one at 7'6" and I can see almost as much in the car mirrors as in the extended towing mirrors. darn, could have saved £50. Well recomended 10 out of 10


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Lunar

De ervaring van Ross Simpson met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Lunar Zenith 5 van 1205 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 69%* = 106 km/u = 20%

We have had the galaxy for 18 months and it has towed very well around the north of england and also on our annual foreign trip which last year was all the way to the costa brava in north spain. Overtaking is easily achieved on motorways and the trouble is keeping the speed down to 60mph. It pulls amazing well in 5th all day and if terain is relatively flat and not overly hilly 6th gear pulls well too. Towed from NYorks to Dover then Calais (via Paris) to Lourdes, in 2 days at a regular speed most of the way with no bother! I wouldn't want the 1.8tdci and enjoy the 2.0 tdci with cruise control which is ideal on the paege!!! Fully recommend this a tow car and loads of room for 5wks worth of gear!!!


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Sprite

De ervaring van David met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Sprite Major 6 van 1375 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 78%* = 101 km/u = 18%

Had my 07 plate Galaxy for over a year now and it is by far the best towcar I have had. Has tons of power and on the motorway the trouble is keeping the speed down to the legal limit. One thing I have noticed is that the fuel consumption on mine is better if we keep away from 6th gear at all times - even on the motorway. Would recommend this towcar.


Ford Galaxy II - 1.8 TDCi met een Bailey

De ervaring van John Golby met een Ford Galaxy II - 1.8 TDCi (74 Kw/101 pk bouwperiode: september 2006 - mei 2010) en een Bailey Ranger 470/4 van 1167 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 68%* = 87 km/u = 12%

i would say my galaxy has not given use any problems atall & is very good on fuel


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v met een Sprite

De ervaring van shaun hazard met een Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v (107 Kw/146 pk bouwperiode: november 1997 - juni 2006) en een Sprite Quattro FB van 1518 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 87%* = 104 km/u = 10%

the ford galaxy pulls my sprite fine. the car has good road manners if not pushed hard with van on.


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v met een Elddis

De ervaring van nands met een Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v (107 Kw/146 pk bouwperiode: november 1997 - juni 2006) en een Elddis Avante 556 van 1414 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 81%* = 105 km/u = 11%

This car towed ok on the flat and cruised easily at 60mph. However, on hills it really struggled. We frequently got down to third gear on motorway inclines. We have traded in for a diesel Volvo and hope this will be better.


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v met een Lunar

De ervaring van mr waller met een Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v (107 Kw/146 pk bouwperiode: november 1997 - juni 2006) en een Lunar Clubman 530-4 van 1350 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 78%* = 102 km/u = 10%

i've towed with an astra 2.0 tdi and it was terrible so i traded that in for a vectra 2.0sri again terrible so we decided to go for a galaxy ours is the 2.3 petrol and it is perfect in every way we went to dorset last summer around 350 miles never missed a beat hardly knew i was towing and it returned 28 mpg can t fault this car at all


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi met een Elddis

De ervaring van Andrew Lumley met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 pk bouwperiode: oktober 2003 - juni 2006) en een Elddis Odyssey 505 van 1475 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 82%* = 102 km/u = 16%

The Galaxy is an excellent tow car. We cross the English Channel twice a year and tow more than 5000 miles annually. I average 30mpg with a tandem on the roof. The caravan behaves perfectly and the car never misses a beat. 560 miles in one day was slightly ambitious - but no aches or pains - all very relaxed. I would recommend a Galaxy to anyone.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Bailey

De ervaring van John met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne van 1395 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 78%* = 101 km/u = 17%

2004 Galaxy 1.9Tdi (115) towing a Bailey S6 Bretagne. First time to caravaning so nothing to compare, but very happy with this outfit. Had no problems towing; cruises on the motorway, turbo kicks in when needed. Luggage space with two kids fantastic - can't see why this vehicle is not often rated !!!


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi met een Abbey

De ervaring van george gardner met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 pk bouwperiode: oktober 2003 - juni 2006) en een Abbey Spectrum 520 van 1651 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 91%* = 102 km/u = 15%

we are first time caravaners but i have towed many things with 4wd and vans etc, the galaxy performs well and at no time has it felt unstable towing a large caravan, it cruises easilly on the motorway and as yet has not struggled with any hills, i agree with the mud and snow tyres as our caravan is twin axle the galaxy soon slips on wet grass or mud. 9/10 score


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Coachman

De ervaring van james mcdonnell met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Coachman Amara 560/6 van 1530 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 84%* = 99 km/u = 16%

motorway driving very steady,not as good for overtaking or steep hill climbs,but ok in 6th gear.


Ford Galaxy - 2.8 V6 [5MT] met een Bailey

De ervaring van Chris Roy met een Ford Galaxy - 2.8 V6 [5MT] (128 Kw/174 pk bouwperiode: december 1995 - augustus 2000) en een Bailey Pageant Provence van 1405 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 81%* = 117 km/u = 12%

The Galaxy 2.8 V6 has been for the last few years an excellent towcar. We now have the Bailey provence having towed a Swift Challenger before with same towcar. Great towcar loads of power, more importantly low down torque, very relaxed towing. With back seats removed loads of space to load up car rather than van. All in all great tow car...Auto 4x4 would seem perfect towcar.....hope to get auto 4x4 when change car....


Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi met een Bailey

De ervaring van James chambers met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi (128 Kw/174 pk bouwperiode: april 2008 - mei 2010) en een Bailey Senator Carolina van 1759 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 88%* = 108 km/u = 19%

I have a 08 ford galaxy 2.2 diesel and a 2005 Bailey senetor twin axle. I have towed with a couple of times it is a good towing car best on motorways easy to keep 60mph. It is also good on the hill climber having little trouble. The mpg is harmally around 40 but when towing it goes to around a impressive 35-36. It is a alround good towing car.


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Ace

De ervaring van m gaynor met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Ace Award Firestar van 1463 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 83%* = 99 km/u = 18%

have an 08 plate bought march, tows like a dream don,t know why I did,nt buy one sooner. Had a nissan terrano2 before and the galaxy tows better, It does more to the gallon towing also. when on site and caravan unhitched it does 15 - 20 mls, per gallon more than the terrano which at todays prices for diesel has got to be good.


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi aut. met een Bailey

De ervaring van chris lukins met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi aut. (96 Kw/131 pk bouwperiode: juni 2007 - mei 2010) en een Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne van 1395 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 78%* = 101 km/u = 35%

So far so good as they say, have not had any problems so far touring with this unit, accelleration and handling still very good when caravan loaded and car loaded with a family of five. Very stable leaves your position on the road very secure, and still plenty of pull in reserve!


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Compass

De ervaring van Nick met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Compass Rallye 482 van 1400 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 80%* = 100 km/u = 18%

Towed with this Galaxy for about 18 months. Seems to have plenty of power in all conditions. On motorways and dual carriageways 60 mph is easily maintained in 6th gear. Compared to the old Galaxy the gear ratios seem better chosen meaning it is possible to pull away on mud or wet grass, which was near impossible with my old one. The biggest problem encountered with this outfit is keeping the speed down to the legal limits. I found the old style Galaxy a good towcar, the new Galaxy I have found to be better.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi met een Swift

De ervaring van Marcus met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (110 Kw/150 pk bouwperiode: februari 2005 - juni 2006) en een Swift Challenger 490 van 1540 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 85%* = 105 km/u = 16%

Dont know it's on the back, great on diesel,


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi met een Bailey

De ervaring van john leyden met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 pk bouwperiode: oktober 2003 - juni 2006) en een Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne van 1395 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 78%* = 104 km/u = 17%

i have come from a discovery to a galaxy and could not be more pleased with the car. im a bit of a landrover fan but if i had to be honest the galaxy is a lot better drive on the road and gives you the confidence to overtake with ease. mud and snow tyres on the front should get you across most grass on site. 9/10 score.







Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Abbey

De ervaring van Budge met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Abbey Vogue 495 van 1442 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 80%* = 99 km/u = 17%

Tows fine on roads so long as you dont do 60mph up a hill when it overheats. Wasted pounds and pounds to get it fixed all to no avail. Perhaps we just got a bad one.
Hopeless on grass with any dampness in it, stick to hard standing apart from the summer


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] met een Avondale

De ervaring van L Tinson met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Avondale Dart 556-6 van 1250 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 74%* = 104 km/u = 30%

Just bought a Ford Galaxy as a towcar, 05 plate TDI 1.9 Zetec Auto. It towed very well with not issues. It proved to be a very good tug and stable, returning about 24/26 MPG. I was a little wary of buying and towing with an auto at first but have no regrets. I have to say it's a lot easier all round than a manual vehicle. I had the van fully loaded as was the Galaxy.


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi met een Geist

De ervaring van ian white met een Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 pk bouwperiode: juni 2006 - mei 2010) en een Geist LV535 van 1410 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 80%* = 101 km/u = 18%

Owned the Geist for 2 years. Currently towing with a 2.8 shogun LWB. Looking to shortly change over to a galaxy. Reports are excellent for the ford and towing limits are well within the weight of the geist. However the jocky wheel sits low to the gound even when stored in the highest level possible. I have looked at replacing the internal jocky for a side fixing mount. This would allow for better ground clearance when stored away.
Looking forward to towing with the Galaxy and will report back.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [5MT] met een Lunar

De ervaring van Mark Allinson met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [5MT] (81 Kw/110 pk bouwperiode: november 1997 - augustus 2000) en een Lunar Zenith 6 van 1260 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 76%* = 98 km/u = 15%

We've had our Galaxy 1.9TDI 110BHP, for just under a year. Excellent car highly recommended!
Just bought our Lunar Zenith 6 last weekend. Towed 135 miles home, no problems. Pulls well, cruise control set to just under 60mph, maintained it all the way home, up and down hills too.

Very pleased with this combination, however there's not much left in reserve. When a bus was about to join the motorway I floored it just to leave him room to pull out behind us, not a lot happened, so I braked and let him out infront of us. So to remedy this I think I'll fit a power boost box, you know the one's that plug into the loom by the fuel pump, they up the boost and adjust the fuelling. About £50 on eBay, boosts power from 110bhp to 138 bhp, then it really will be spot on.

50mpg solo, 30 towing caravan, not bad I reckon.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Swift

De ervaring van Neil met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Swift Charisma 590 TA van 1534 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 88%* = 100 km/u = 17%

Towing with 110bhp adequate on flat at steady 60mph, but not much more for overtaking. On steep hills will pull steadily in fourth. Fuel economy good for towing 1500kg twin axle.


Ford Galaxy - 2.8 V6 24v [6MT] met een Caravan

De ervaring van phill met een Ford Galaxy - 2.8 V6 24v [6MT] (150 Kw/204 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Caravan van 1850 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 108%* = 203 km/u = 11%

perfect pulls great even with this old heavy van on its back plus with my wife and i and 5 children i thought it would struggle but there is no problem been away 5 times this year done over 3000 miles sorted


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Swift

De ervaring van Nick met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Swift Charisma 570 van 1452 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 84%* = 100 km/u = 17%

Tows really well. Very stable. Excellent on smooth French roads, can even tow in 6th gear at legal limit.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Bailey

De ervaring van Richard Pennington met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Bailey Senator S5 Oklahoma van 1497 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 77%* = 97 km/u = 14%

Hill starts hard on the clutch but once rolling power ok to get to towing speeds and easy to keep as long as you use the gears and power band. very stable and good on fuel economy as long as you take it steady


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] met een Polar

De ervaring van H. Kipper met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Polar 520 (2.3) van 1420 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 82%* = 97 km/u = 29%

The Ford Galaxy is a good towcar. The automatic gearbox works well while towing and really makes it easy to drive with caravan. With two persons in the car and some luggage on a level road you will run in 5th gear well under 2000 rpm. The car is stable and you will normally not experience influence from the caravan. Acceleration is quite good, but the frontwheels can slip a little on wet roads from standstill, especially on uphill position. You may also experience some Turbo lag, when starting with fast acceleration. Braking works well. I have not measured fuelecononomy, but expect it to be around 9-11l/100km. The tank holds 70 liters, but if you press the metal clip in the filler hose, you can utilise the expansion volume as well, up to 14 liters extra. So you can drive all day without refueling. The car is a very good long distance cruiser with high seating position, armrest, good firm seats and a reasonable noiselevel in 5th gear. Driving with to people there is space for two bicycles in the rear. We use the Thule indoor bike rack which is excellent. I have not tried to drive with full load in car and caravan, but expect that it wil have a rather serious impact on performance. Also it seems from other peoples experience, that it increases the risk of failure in the automatic gearbox.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Ace

De ervaring van Tepic met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Ace Award Brightstar van 1370 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 80%* = 101 km/u = 18%

The car feels and sounds like it is being punished if the road is anything but level or downhill.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Compass

De ervaring van Nick met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Compass Rallye 482 van 1400 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 83%* = 99 km/u = 18%

The Galaxy sruggles pulling away from stationary until the turbo cuts in. Once moving the towing performance is adequate. Dropping down a gear or two provides plenty of power for safe overtaking, but do not stop on wet grass or mud.


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] met een Lunar

De ervaring van Chris met een Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 pk bouwperiode: augustus 2000 - juni 2006) en een Lunar Lexon EW van 1470 kg geplaatst op 01-11-2006. De trekkersscore van deze combinatie is:
= 87%* = 99 km/u = 17%

having towed for a number of years, moving up to a bigger caravan has made the Galaxy seem a bit lightweight. Struggles up hill in the wet, normal motorway driving is fine, feels like you are being pushed coming down hill. Wet grass for pitching is very much a case of don't stop.


* De gewichtsverhouding in Engeland wordt berekend volgens de British Towing Code (loaded weight caravan / kerbweight car).


ITBS - Veilig op weg Foto

Berekening

Kies een auto:


En een caravan:




Home     Informatie     Berekeningen     Auto's     Caravans     Reviews     Advies     Cursussen     Vragen     Caravantrekker      Zoeken     Sitemap